How to list FSMO Roles in Multi-master Domain Replication Model

If, by any chance, you are running a Multi-master Domain replication model in your infrastructure and want to get the list of servers which hold all FSMO Roles, you can use the following commands. Same commands can be used to grab all the information on Single Domain Replication Model as well, but, since only one DC is being used, you would know who has the roles.

There are total of 5 FSMO roles and they are divided into two categories.

Domain Wide FSMO Roles

PS C:\WINDOWS\system32> get-addomain | select-object RIDMaster,PDCEmulator,InfrastructureMaster

RIDMaster PDCEmulator InfrastructureMaster
--------- ----------- --------------------

Foreset Wide FSMO Roles

PS C:\WINDOWS\system32> get-adforest | select-object DomainNamingMaster, SchemaMaster

DomainNamingMaster SchemaMaster
------------------ ------------

As you can see, in the output above that Forest Wide and Domain Wide FSMO roles are configured on different servers.

Where to place the FSMO Roles?

Discussion on where to place FSMO roles is a topic on its own. However, there are plenty of useful resourceful links provided by Microsoft regarding best practices to meet your goals. Here is one useful link that can direct you meet the needs.

Share your thoughts